Writers in the Schools (WITS) invites you to A Celebration of Story on November 3rd –  an evening of storytelling through music. Our featured performer, Allen Shamblin, is famous for penning chart-topping hits like Clay Walker’s “Live, Laugh, Love” and Bonnie Raitt’s “I Can’t Make You Love Me.” He will be inducted to the Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame along with country music superstars Alan Jackson, Garth Brooks, John Bettis, and Thom Schuyler on October 16 in Nashville.

WITS will honor Katherine Center, best-selling novelist and former WITS writer for her influence on Houston’s literary arts community and for embodying the mission of WITS through her life’s work. Center’s work includes The Bright Side of Disaster, Everyone is Beautiful, and Get Lucky.

Join us for an inspirational celebration of music, power, and story! Proceeds from the event will provide yearlong literacy programs for underserved students in schools, hospitals, community centers, parks, hospitals, and homeless shelters.

Click here to purchase tables and tickets or contact us at 713.523.3877. For more information about table and ticket sponsorships, click here.

If you are unable to attend but would like to support WITS, visit our donate page. The schedule for the evening includes:

6:00 PM VIP reception

7:00 PM Registration and silent auction

8:00 PM Dinner

8:30 PM Story songs by Allen Shamblin

Silent auction items include: United Airlines vacation getaway, Wii and PS3 gaming systems, sports memorabilia, gift certificates from t’afia, Alley Theatre, Benjy’s, Houston Ballet, and many others.

Original art donated by:

Joe Acker
Ian Anderson
Michael Arcieri 
Long Chu
Aaron Courtland
Michael Guidry
Rebecca Kveton
Van McFarland
Tami Merrick
Donna E. Perkins
Patrick Palmer
Nicola Parente
Liz Conces Spencer
Richard Varela
Wendy Wagner

and many others.


Poet Laureates

Pulitzer Prize Winners
H-E-B Tournament of Champions
Susman Godfrey, LLP
Wells Fargo

Newbery Medalists
Ahmad, Zavitsanos, Anaipakos, Alavi & Mensing / Lizzie and Scott Fletcher
Deborah Detering
Christina Gonzalez
King & Spalding
Karen McKibben Morris and The Honorable William Morris
Xavier Peña
Sysco Corporation
Vinson & Elkins LLP

NY Times Bestsellers
Bristow Group Inc.
CenterPoint Energy
Jenny and Jim Elkins Fund
Eva Geer
MaryScott Hagle and Daniel Kornberg / Antonia Day and George Helland
Julie and David Itz
Lenora Noroski & Fred Insulbuch
Marcia and Michael Nichols
Emily and James Blackwell / Michael Pipkin
Patricia Delaney and Warren Rawson
Josephine and The Honorable Bill Rice
Nancy and Ken Spitler
United Airlines
Ann and Benjamin Ziker / BHP Billiton


Greg P. Audel
Jessica Rossman and Gordon Bethune
Emily Pipkin Blackwell and James Blackwell
Stanley Chan
Carliss Chatman
Nicola Parente and Aaron Courtland
Jennifer Langdon and Joe Crownover
Melanie Malinowski and Andy Cunningham
Robin and Tony Davidson
Lizzie and Scott Fletcher
Nancy and Joe Ford
Tina and Craig Freedman
Jennifer LeGrand Howard
Lenora Noroski and Frank Inselbuch
Karen Walrond and Marcus Jennings
Shelley and Alexander Kaplan
MaryScott Hagle and Daniel Kornburg
Jacqueline S. Martin
Karen McKibben Morris and The Honorable William Morris
Whitney Botsford Morgan
Isabel Cowles Murphy and Christopher Murphy
Marcia and Michael Nichols
Roberta Weldon and James Pipkin
Josie Edwards and Monica Pope
Patricia Delaney and Warren Rawson
Josephine and The Honorable Bill Rice
Dr. Roxanne Riefkohl
Susan and Tom Scotty
Ginya and Clayton Trier
Laurette Veres
Andrea Ferguson White and The Honorable Bill White


Xavier Peña, President
Christina Gonzalez, Vice President
Michael Pipkin, Treasurer
Garrick Malone, Secretary
Mark Cervenka
Brian S. Cheadle
Jane Creighton
David Francis
Beth McFarland Haag
Barry Hammond
Danielle Houston
Chanler Langham
Marcia Nichols
Amanda Martin Nicolo
Chris Porter
Sheleah Reed
Carolyn Rodz
Rachel Etheridge Solar
Julie Tran
Ann Ziker

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.