The keynote speaker at the 25th Anniversary Young Writers Reading will be Tony Hoagland, celebrated poet and professor at the creative writing program at the University of Houston, one of the most selective and respected programs of its kind in the country. Tony Hoagland has received many awards including the O.B. Hardison Prize for Poetry and Teaching from the Folger Shakespeare Library, as well as the Poetry Foundation’s 2005 Mark Twain Award in recognition of his contribution to humor in American poetry. Tony has published several books such as Sweet Ruin, What Narcissism Means to Me, and The New Year of Yellow.

submitted by Alex Gilbert

photo by Kenna Bonner

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.